YIKES!!!!!!!!

10 Aug

So, a week ago I made a commitment. A BIG commitment. Something that royally scares the pants right off of me. BUT as of right now, I’m just going to continue with eating the weird/good for me stuff and plow through the plan I have. I’ll tell you all what it is later. I’m bad at keeping secrets but I need to know that I CAN do this before I tell everyone. Patience grasshoppa………….it will come in time.(written 7/21/11)

I just re-read this post and its totally unneccesary because it basically tells you all nothing!  Congrats Meredith, congrats.(written 8/2/11)

Ok, so the background of these previous posts is that I made a commitment to do a Triathlon. There, I said it and I almost just threw up in my mouth when writing that.  I just read Caitlin’s recap of a Tri that she and Ashley( read that one too, but oddly it made me thrilled to do one) did.  I seriously got physically ill when reading Caitlin’s recap.  Its not that I want to back out, its that I want to accomplish this extremely big task I set for myself.  I know I’m in this thing, I’ve started training, I know I CAN do this mentally and physically. Now its just making sure I have the strength and stamina to do it come April 2012.   Again, I’m trying to keep my breakfast down.

I haven’t gotten nervous until I read Caitlin’s recap.  I think things just got real.  I will be doing(along with a wonderful friend who introduced the idea of a triathlon to me)  the Try Charleston Sprint Triathlon on April 28, 2012.  I will do it.  I NEED to do it.  I HAVE to do it.  Why? because I need to live out this saying: “If you dreams don’t scare you, they’re not big enough.”  That’s going to be/has been my mantra for my training.  I have a 4 month training plan that I’m doubling, and then the last month will be maintenance and tapering down.  I have the plan, I’m working the plan.

SO, a list of things I have:

For biking: new bike, so flattering bike shorts, helmet, and the knowledge that I rode 4 miles OVER the distance I have to do for the tri. Needs: possibly a different bike seat, ow.

For running: love of running, fear of injuring myself, lack of self control when I run because I know I can just go out and run 4 miles if I want to but I will probably injure myself so I have to work up to it. Needs: new running shoes and restraint.

For Swimming:  lovely Speedo suit, goggles, and cap.  Needs: to make sure I can swim 500 meters(preferably more)  and a gym membership so I can swim in the winter.  I’m not a natural born swimmer but I can swim, so I would consider this my weakest sport.  All help is welcome.

So, I’m asking for prayers, support, words of encouragement, questions on how training is going, etc. because I realized as I was reading Caitlin’s post that I can’t keep this inside any longer.  I can’t do this alone, I’m not doing this alone.  I wanted to know that I could do it before announcing it to the world nonchalantly, so the time is now.  (written 8/9/11)

3 Responses to “YIKES!!!!!!!!”

  1. CaitlinHTP August 10, 2011 at 6:17 pm #

    Yay! I am so excited for you. You will do great!

    • The Weirdo August 10, 2011 at 6:24 pm #

      I’m so excited for your support!!! and I’m in awe of you, you did amazing!!!

  2. Libby August 11, 2011 at 4:45 pm #

    WHOOHOOOOO! SO proud of you! We are going to keep rocking this training like it’s going out of style. You are amazing. There is NO better word to describe you!

Leave a Reply

