Libkies

11 Aug

Apparently my goal of downloading ALL of these WONDERFUL and droolworthy pictures is going by the wayside and the Blackberry(ahem Crackberry) is winning.  Hopefully sometime soon I’ll crack and download all of the pics from my camera or get an upgraded phone(this is the more likely option).  So here are a couple more little gems from my phone.

DA DA DA DAAAAAAAAAAAAH!!!!! I present to you, LIBKIES!!!!!  The darker ones are Pineapple Upside Down Cake Libkies and the lighter ones are Baklava Libkies.

So, everyone has heard of Larabars, right? Well they’re amazing but they’re kind of expensive when you like to eat them every morning as pre-workout fuel(sidenote: I actually can’t stomach much when its early morning but a half of a Larabar or one Libkie will suffice for moderate to semi-intense workouts. I eat the other half when I get done) BUT at over a dollar a bar(for the carrot cake ones that I buy in bulk) that’s almost as much as my  gym membership a month.  I’ll probably always have a Larabar or two in my house at any given time but I’ve been transitioning to making my own versions.  Let’s face it, I love to experiment and I love knowing what’s going into my food so to me, its a no-brainer to make my own.  I stick to a minimalistic approach and if its not needed or doesn’t add anything nutritionally, I don’t add it.  The basics of them are dates, nuts and vanilla. The possibilities are endless and with a Costco membership and their price on dates, forgettaboutit.

Libkies that need to be made ASAP

Pineapple Pie(the true key to getting whatever I want,  my mom taught me at a young age. There’s a background story to this, but you’ll have to ask if you want to know the long version.)

German Chocolate Cake

Cherry Garcia

Pina Colada

More Baklava- I can’t get enough of this flavor

Daisey- pistachio/cherry

AND whatever else I can come up with.  Stay tuned!

One Response to “Libkies”

  1. Libby August 15, 2011 at 4:46 am #

    Quite possibly the best post of all time bc it features one of my favorite goods (Libkies) and people (you) of all time! Forget Larabars when you have Mer-raw-bars. Merabars!!!! Best pre workout fuel EVER. I can vouch for that!!!! You’re a genius, but you knew that 🙂

Leave a Reply

