Speechless Sauce

21 Jan

I posted this picture to Instagram this afternoon.

20130121-150413.jpg
And it seems everyone is intrigued by it. If you’re not familiar with the fast food joint that “thinks outside the bun” then you might not know what those look like but I’m assuming most of you do.

Long story short, I live with an omnivore and tend to drool when said omnivore orders these so I decided I needed to figure out a vegan version AND I DID!!!!! It’s simple and delicious and the sauce is freaking amazing you’ll want to put it on everything!!

Vegan Cheesy Crunchy Tacos
Corn taco shells
Fluffy flour tortillas
Cheddar Daiya shreds
Shredded lettuce
Speechless Sauce
Prepared TVP
1 packet of taco seasoning

*remember to check ingredients for no animal products. All of my ingredients are national brands or store brands but make sure to check.

Speechless Sauce
3/4 cup vegan sour cream( I used Tofutti)
1/2 cup vegan mayo
1tsp onion powder
1/2 tsp garlic powder
2 Tbsp nutritional yeast
2 Tbsp jalapeño juice from jarred jalapeños
1 jalapeño’s worth of jarred slices or to your taste
1/4 cup Daiya cheddar shreds
1/4 of a red bell pepper
Salt and pepper to taste

Blend all ingredients in a blender until smooth, adjust salt and pepper and spice to taste.

Taco “Meat”
To prepare the TVP taco meat I just boil 2 cups of water with 2 tsp of veggie bullion paste(or two cups if veggie stock) add enough TVP to absorb all of the liquid. Remove from heat and add the packet of taco seasoning. Add a bit f water if its too dry. I found “hamburger” TVP in a store while I was on a business trip, which is what I used, but regular works fine too.

To assemble, heat the hard shell taco. Sprinkle a little cheddar Daiya on a flour tortilla and microwave just enough to melt the cheese. Wrap the soft shell onto the hard shell and let it sit for a minute so it all sticks together. Layer in the meat, sauce and lettuce and devour!!!!!

I think after my post gym smoothie, these will make a fantastic and fast dinner every night this week!!!

Leave a Reply

